Colin Woolf Long Term Contributions to CE

Dr. Colin Woolf was one of the first generation of chest physicians in Canada; he came to the University of Toronto after training in both South Africa and in the UK. He pioneered the creation of the Respiratory Failure Unit at the Toronto General Hospital (TGH) back in the 1960s, which is now known as the Medical Intensive Care Unit.

More about Colin Woolf and the Awards including example score sheets and common criteria across all Colin Woolf awards.

Criteria for Award Selection

  • Leadership roles/positions
  • Sustained commitment
  • Innovation
  • Evidence of impact of programs, research etc

In addition to the eligibility requirements for all awards, the following is required:

  • The nominee must demonstrate a sustained commitment to education. Experiences may include teaching, course coordination, administration and research activities in Continuing Education. The nominee must clearly demonstrate creativity, innovation, style, enthusiasm, commitment, effectiveness and originality. Excellence in course design, promotion and organization is also required. In the case where a CPD program has been offered over several years, evidence of course evolution must be provided.

*Courses managed by the CPD office at U of T can request the course program, evaluation data and participant comments to include as part of their submission.

Terms of reference

  • All faculty affiliated with University of Toronto Faculty of Medicine are eligible for the award
  • Nominations should be made by a faculty member, preferably a department chair or CPD director. No self-nominations please.
  • An individual who has been previously nominated and has not won an award remains eligible in a succeeding year. An individual will not normally be considered for a Colin Woolf award for teaching excellence or course coordination in the previous 3 years (inclusive).
  • Nominees will not automatically be considered in alternative categories should they be unsuccessful in one category. However, an individual or group can be nominated in more than one Colin Woolf award category OR be nominated for other CPD awards in addition to the Colin Woolf award in the same year. Each award nomination requires its own application and documentation specific to the award in which the individual/group has been nominated.
  • Closing date for nominations is the end of November for the programs developed in the previous calendar year

Submission Documents


  • CV (maximum 10 pages in length) highlighting CPD roles (Include: Grants, publications, invited lectureships, mentorships, chairmanships, directorships etc.)
  • Executive summary outlining nominee’s accomplishments and reasons supporting nomination including the impact nominee has had in the field (by nominating individual/group)
  • Any/all material or data that supports the application and highlights the commitment, impact and successes of the applicant
  • 2 peer support letters (letter or email accepted)

Award value


View the Colin Woolf Long Term Contributions to CE Evaluation Form

View Successful Recipients →

Awards & Fellowships

CPD has eight annual Awards in Continuing Education that recognize excellence in research, scholarship, innovation, teamwork and long term commitment to continuing education for faculty at the University of Toronto Faculty of Medicine. View last years awards winners.

Click on the name of the award to learn more.

Awards Deadline

Deadline for nominations for the previous academic year is November 30 (If November 30 falls on a weekend the deadline will be the following working day).

Awards Eligibility

  • All faculty affiliated with U of T Faculty of Medicine are eligible for consideration.
  • Awards are in recognition of U of T accredited Continuing Education courses only.
  • An individual who has been previously nominated and has not won an award remains eligible in a succeeding year. A new submission is required.
  • An individual will not normally be considered for an award if he or she has won the award in the previous five years. They are however eligible to apply in another category.


Vashty Hawkins
(416) 946-7903