Highlighted Faculty

Thomas M. Hemmerling

Thomas M Hemmerling MSc MD DEAA
Associate Professor Department of Anesthesia
Division of Experimental Surgery, McGill University
Chief, Department of Anesthesia
Fleury Hospital – CSSS Ahuntsic and Montreal-Nord

Robert S. Johnston

Robert Johnston CD BSc MD FRCPC
Physician Advisor, Practice Improvement
Canadian Medical Protective Association

Lieutenant-Colonel (ret’d) Dr. Rob Johnston spent 20 years in the Canadian Armed Forces prior to joining the CMPA as a physician advisor in 2017. Having graduated from the University of Toronto Medical School in 1999, Rob completed his residency in family medicine at the University of Ottawa, and later obtained his flight surgeon qualification from the Defence Research and Development Canada School of Environmental Medicine.

Following subsequent residency training in anesthesiology, and fellowships in thoracic anesthesiology and medical informatics, Rob practiced clinical anesthesiology at the Ottawa Hospital and l’Hôpital Montfort. He also served as a trauma team leader at the Ottawa Hospital from 2011 to 2016, was a critical care air evacuation physician with the Royal Canadian Air Force from 2010 to 2016, and was medical director of the Canadian Armed Forces Medical Simulation Centre at CFB Valcartier. Rob has had many clinical, advisory, and educational roles in the Canadian Armed Forces, including designing and delivering numerous military courses and training events. Owing to his worldwide experience providing resuscitative care, and using simulated crisis management and team dynamics training, Rob has been influential in shaping military critical care and tactical care capabilities.

Richard E. Mimeault

Richard E. Mimeault MD, FRCSC
Physician Advisor,
Safe Medical Care, CMPA

Dr. Richard Mimeault completed his medical degree at McGill University in 1982. He went on to do an internship at the Wellesley Hospital in Toronto, followed by a general surgery residency in Ottawa and then a two-year transplant fellowship at the University Hospital in London, Ontario. In 1989, he returned to Ottawa where he started a practice of general and hepatobiliary surgery at the Ottawa Hospital. He was in practice for 27 years during which time he was closely involved with the residency training program and undergraduate education. He was also peer assessor for the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario (CPSO) and volunteered in third-world surgery and surgical education. He joined the CMPA as a physician advisor in 2017.

Paul Myles

Paul Myles MPH, MD, DSc, FANZCA
Professor / Director
Department of Anaesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine
Alfred Hospital and Monash University, Australia

Paul is an Australian National Health and Medical Research Council Practitioner Fellow, and Fellow of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Science. He is an Editor of the British Journal of Anaesthesia, an Editorial Consultant for The Lancet, and an editorial board member of Anesthesiology, and Anaesthesia and Intensive Care. He has published more than 300 papers, and been awarded more than 30 NHMRC grants totalling more than $40 million.


Justyna Bartoszko MD MSc FRCPC
Cardiovascular Anesthesia and Critical Care Fellow, Toronto General Hospital
Department of Anesthesia and Pain Management

Ki Jinn Chin MBBS MMed FRCPC
Regional Anesthesia Fellowship Program Director
Department of Anesthesia, Toronto Western Hospital

Hance Clarke MD PhD FRCPC
Staff Anesthesiologist / UHN
Director, Pain Services
Director, Ehlers Danlos Syndrome Program
Co-Chair Knowledge Translation, U of T Centre for the Study of Pain

Natalie Anne Clavel MD FRCPC MHSc CHE
Lecturer, Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine
Staff Physician, Department of Anesthesia and Pain Management
Toronto Western Hospital

Richelle Kruisselbrink MD FRCPC
Assistant Professor, McMaster University
Staff Physician, Department of Anesthesiology
Grand River Hospital/St Mary’s General Hospital, Kitchener-Waterloo

Philip Lam BScPhm MD MSc FRCPC
Assistant Professor
Medical Director, Antimicrobial Stewardship
Staff Physician, Division of Infectious Diseases
Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre

Azad Mashari MD FRCPC
Assistant Professor
Director, Advanced Perioperative Imaging Lab,
Toronto General Hospital, University Health Network

Safia Nazarali MSc MD
Resident Physician
Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine

Sharon Peacock PT MD FRCPC
Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine Fellowship Director,
Undergraduate Site Coordinator
Sinai Health System

Sev Perelman MD MSc CCFP(EM) FCFP (C) CHSE-A CIPS Adv. Dipl Pain Mgt CAPM
Associate Professor, DFCM
Emergency Physician and Medical Director
SimSinai Centre, Sinai Health System

Pablo Perez d’Empaire MD FRCPC FCCM FASE
Lecturer, Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine
Staff Physician
Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre Department of Anesthesia

Asad Siddiqui BHSc MD M. Ed FRCPC
Assistant Professor
Pediatric Anesthesiology Fellow
The Hospital for Sick Children

Matthew Sheppard MD FRCPC
Lecturer, Department of Anesthesia and Pain Management
Staff Physician, Department of Anesthesia and Pain Management
Mount Sinai Hospital

Asad Siddiqui MD, M. Ed, FRCPC
Assistant Professor
Pediatric Anesthesiologist The Hospital for Sick Children
Director of Liver Transplant Anesthesia

Gregory Silverman MD MSc BSc(Hon) FRCPC
Assistant Professor, Department of Anesthesia
Staff Physician, Department of Anesthesia, Sinai Health System

Mandeep Singh MBBS MD MSc FRCPC
Assistant Professor, Department of Anesthesia
Toronto Sleep and Pulmonary Centre
Department of Anesthesia and Pain Management
Women’s College Hospital, and Toronto Western Hospital, University Health Network

Sanjho Srikandarajah MD FRCPC
Lecturer, Department of Anaesthesia and Pain Medicine
Staff Physician
North York General Hospital

Jordan Tarshis MD FRCPC
Associate Professor, Department of Anesthesia
Director Sunnybrook Canadian Simulation Centre

Evan Wild MD FRCPC
Fellow, Advanced Airways
Mount Sinai Hospital

Jean Wong MD FRCPC
Associate Professor
Staff Physician
Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine
University Health Network, Women’s College Hospital

Fabricio Zasso MD
Obstetric Anesthesia Fellow
Department of Anesthesia, Mount Sinai Hospital

Unless otherwise stated, all academic appointments are with the University of Toronto.