CPD Announces 2012-2013 CE Award Winners

CE-Awards-Image-2013-2014The Continuing Education Awards Adjudication Committee has selected the following nominees as award recipients for this past academic year (2012-2013):

Colin R. Woolf Award for Excellence in Course Coordination

David Jaffray, Pamela Catton and Nicole Harnett (Department of Radiation Oncology) for developing a broad interprofessional curriculum in radiation oncology (Princess Margaret Hospital Accelerated Education Program) that looks at impact on practice as an outcome.

Colin R. Woolf Award for Long-Term Contributions to Continuing Education

Paula Ravitz (Department of Psychiatry) for the breadth and depth of her contributions to CPD in a relatively short period of time: Leadership, scholarship, research, publications and program development.

Colin R. Woolf Award for Teaching Excellence

Miriam Weinstein (Department of Paediatrics) for her glowing teaching evaluations from multiple course participants over several years.

David Fear Fellowship

Douglas Wooster (Department of Surgery, Division of Vascular Surgery) to develop an electronic vascular ultrasound curriculum.

Ivan Silver Innovation Award

Joel Sadavoy, Virginia Wesson and LJ Nelles (Department of Psychiatry) for their train-the-trainer “The Reitman Centre CARERS” program designed to educate family members how to care for their relative Alzheimer’s disease with the ultimate goal to allow the Alzheimer’s patient to remain longer in a home environment before becoming institutionalized.

Interprofessional Team Continuing Education Award

Michael Pollanen (Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine) for the interdisciplinary interprofessional program for coroners, lawyers and pathologists as well as technologists on suicide.

CPD congratulates all the Continuing Education Award winners on their recognized excellence in education and teaching! They will be presented with their CE Awards at the 2014 Faculty of Medicine Education Achievement Celebration taking place on Tuesday, May 13, 2014 from 4:30pm-7:00pm at Hart House (The Great Hall).

As a follow up to the celebration on May 13, CPD will feature more in-depth profiles of some of the award-winners in our Blog. Stay tuned for the first feature in late May.