Celebrating the Achievements of Those Providing Excellence in Continuing Education

On Tuesday, May 13, 2014, the Continuing Education Awards Adjudication Committee presented recipients with their awards for excellence in CE during the 2014 Faculty of Medicine Education Achievement Celebration at Hart House (The Great Hall), University of Toronto.

CPD congratulates all the Continuing Education Award winners on their recognized achievement in providing top quality education and teaching!

Colin R. Woolf Award for Excellence in Course Coordination

Pamela Catton and Nicole Harnett
David Jaffray, Pamela Catton and Nicole Harnett (Department of Radiation Oncology) for developing a broad interprofessional curriculum in radiation oncology (Princess Margaret Hospital Accelerated Education Program) that looks at impact on practice as an outcome.

Colin R. Woolf Award for Long-Term Contributions to Continuing Education

Paula Ravitz
Paula Ravitz (Department of Psychiatry) for the breadth and depth of her contributions to CPD in a relatively short period of time: Leadership, scholarship, research, publications and program development.

Colin R. Woolf Award for Teaching Excellence

Miriam Weinstein
Miriam Weinstein (Department of Paediatrics) for her glowing teaching evaluations from multiple course participants over several years.

David Fear Fellowship

Douglas Wooster
Douglas Wooster (Department of Surgery, Division of Vascular Surgery) to develop an electronic vascular ultrasound curriculum.

Ivan Silver Innovation Award

Joel Sadavoy, Virginia Wesson and LJ Nelles
Joel Sadavoy, Virginia Wesson and LJ Nelles (Department of Psychiatry) for their train-the-trainer “The Reitman Centre CARERS” program designed to educate family members how to care for their relative Alzheimer’s disease with the ultimate goal to allow the Alzheimer’s patient to remain longer in a home environment before becoming institutionalized.

Interprofessional Team Continuing Education Award

Michael Pollanen (Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine) for the interdisciplinary interprofessional program for coroners, lawyers and pathologists as well as technologists on suicide.