Congratulations to SACME 2021 presenters and award winners

The annual Society for Academic Continuing Medical Education (SACME) meeting was held online from February 24-26, 2021. This year, the meeting focused on the Art and Science of CPD: New Technology, New Knowledge, New Learning and explored the state of change and challenges in the current CPD environment.

The University of Toronto had a very strong showing at the conference and several members of the U of T CPD community were recognized with SACME meeting awards. Congratulations to all the presenters and award winners.

Best Practice Presentation Award

David Wiljer PhD

Accelerating the Appropriate Adoption of AI in Healthcare Through Building New Knowledge, Skills and Capacities in the Canadian Healthcare Professions

Co-Presenter: Mohammed Salhia MEd

Core Project Team: Manal Siddiqui, Elham Dolatabadi, Caitlin Gillan, Dalia Al-Mouawas, Ethan Jackson, Jane Mattson, Jacqueline Waldorf, Rebecca Charow, Sarah Younus, Spencer Williams, Tharshini Jevakumar


Best Brief Virtual Presentation and Poster Award

Shaheen Darani MD, FRCPC

Training Corrections Officers to Better Meet the Mental Health Needs of Inmates

Co-Authors: Kiran Patel MBBS, FRCPC, Laura Hayos OT, Tanya Connors MSW, Sandy Simpson MBBS, FRCPC, Faisal Islam PhD, Anika Saiva MPH


Best Early Investigator Award

Morag Paton MEd

Leading and Influencing Change in Continuing Professional Development: A work in Progress

Co-Authors: Suzan Schneeweiss MD, MEd, FRCPC, Jane Tipping MADEd PCC (ICF), Marta Guzik-Eldridge BA, Paula Rowland PhD, Walter Tavares PhD, David Wiljer PhD


Dave Davis Research in Continuing Medical Education Award

Sanjeev Sockalingam MD, MHPE, FRCPC

Given to an individual or group of individuals who have made outstanding contributions to research in continuing medical education.


Induction to SACME Academy of Fellows

Ivan Silver MD, MEd, FRCPC

Established in 2016, the Academy of SACME Fellows is an honorific group of national and international leaders from academic CPD