David Fear Fellowship


The David Fear Fellowship promotes scholarship and professional development in continuing education by the support of one or more of several activities:

  • Time to develop an educational grant or innovative CPD program.
  • Participation in educational leadership courses (emphasizing continuing education).
  • Site visits to other university CE departments, or similar programs.
  • The fellowship consists of $2,000 and a certificate.
  • The recipient will receive a maximum of $2,000 in a one year period. Funds will be derived from University of Toronto sponsorship fees and the Academic Development Fund in Continuing Education.
  • It is not anticipated that the fellowship will cover all expenses, and may be matched by other funds, either personal or departmental.


David Fear exemplified the role that may be played by active clinicians and educators in the development, coordination and promotion of continuing education (CE) at the level of departments, hospitals, communities and across the Faculty of Medicine. David was an anesthetist at the Hospital for Sick Children, active in the University´s Department of Anaesthesia, where he served as Director of Continuing Education, and the Chair of the Faculty Council Committee on Continuing Education. Until his untimely death in June 1997, his leadership in clinical, educational and administrative roles was instrumental in raising awareness of, and competence in, continuing education. This fellowship attempts to recognize David´s role in this area, and to support those faculty members who wish to develop or enhance their competence and skills in CE.

“The David Fear Fellowship was a most valuable Award as it provided compensation to assist in completion of my Masters in Health Professions Education research project and as a named Fellowship served as an important addition to my CV.”

Criteria for Award Selection:

  • Description of project
  • Innovation
  • Feasibility
  • Knowledge translation
  • Impact

Terms of Reference:

  • All faculty affiliated with University of Toronto Faculty of Medicine are eligible for the award
  • Nominee must have demonstrated active participation in continuing education, for example as a presenter or a workshop leader in continuing education; chairing CPD committees, planning CPD events or similar activities
  • It is not anticipated that the fellowship award will cover all expenses and may be matched by other funds, either personal or departmental
  • Support for this fellowship will be a maximum of $2000, available in a one year period
  • The Fellow is obliged to acknowledge the University of Toronto David Fear Fellowship in relevant presentations, publications as appropriate
  • Once the professional development activity has occurred, the fellow will provide a report to the CE directors and leaders (CEDL) committee and present to this committee or to another forum (e.g. Education Rounds of Journal Club)
  • An individual or group can be nominated for more than one CPD award in the same year. Each award nomination requires its own application and documentation specific to the award in which the individual/group has been nominated.

Submission Requirements

Nominee must indicate, in a 1-2 page letter (maximum) his/her interest in continuing education and in what ways the expertise acquired by the Fear Fellowship support will be utilized. The letter must be accompanied by at least one letter of support from departmental chair, other faculty members or from community-based health professionals (maximum 2)

Award Value

Up to $2000.00 to cover expenses

Download the David Fear Fellowship Evaluation Form

View Successful Recipients →

Awards & Fellowships

CPD has eight annual Awards in Continuing Education that recognize excellence in research, scholarship, innovation, teamwork and long term commitment to continuing education for faculty at the University of Toronto Faculty of Medicine. View last years awards winners.

Click on the name of the award to learn more.

Awards Deadline

Deadline for nominations for the previous academic year is November 30 (If November 30 falls on a weekend the deadline will be the following working day).

Awards Eligibility

  • All faculty affiliated with U of T Faculty of Medicine are eligible for consideration.
  • Awards are in recognition of U of T accredited Continuing Education courses only.
  • An individual who has been previously nominated and has not won an award remains eligible in a succeeding year. A new submission is required.
  • An individual will not normally be considered for an award if he or she has won the award in the previous five years. They are however eligible to apply in another category.


Vashty Hawkins
(416) 946-7903