Fred Fallis Award in Online Learning

Dr. Fred Fallis had a distinguished and pioneering career in the Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto. He was one of the founding members of the Department of Family & Community Medicine and served as its Chair from 1970-1982. He then became the first Assistant Dean of Continuing Education in the Faculty of Medicine, holding the position until 1985. Dr. Fallis was one of the founders of Telemedicine for Ontario, which later became Telemedicine Canada. He is widely recognized for his contributions to innovation in education.

The Fred Fallis award is available annually for an individual or group who has demonstrated innovation and excellence in virtual learning that enables access to CPD for health care practitioners for whom barriers exist to engaging in traditional CPD programs.

Award Criteria

  • Demonstrated excellence in online program/conference development
  • Demonstrated excellence in learner engagement and active learning in an online program/conference
  • Demonstrated fulfillment of program objectives
  • Equity, diversity and inclusion are addressed in one or more of the following: needs assessments, course objectives, subject/content, intended audience
  • Evidence of effective evaluation strategies and outcomes measures
  • Demonstrated impact of online program


  • One award is available annually for an individual or group which has demonstrated innovation and excellence in online learning for health professionals
  • The online learning program must have been accredited through the University of Toronto Faculty of Medicine CPD Office and can either be a stand-alone program or supportive of a live CPD activity
  • This award is selected annually for programs that took place in the previous academic year. For example, the nomination process held in November 2022 will recognize programs or conferences that took place from July 1 2021 to June 30 2022
  • Please refer to Terms of Reference for further details

Required Submission Documents

  • Executive summary and letter of nomination that addresses the award criteria, outlining the nominee’s accomplishments, and the nominator’s reasons for supporting the nomination.
  • Program/Conference information dossier that includes:
    • Downloaded copy or live link to the program/conference agenda or online components
    • Needs assessment process and data on which the program/conference was developed
    • Documentation of planning committee members
    • Statement of program objectives
    • Statement of learning outcomes if relevant (may be addressed in objectives)
    • Data on learning outcomes (eg., data demonstrating changes in knowledge, behaviours, attitudes; feedback data stating proposed changes to practice by participants)
    • Evaluation/outcome data
    • Participant comments

All above documents must pertain to the current CPD program submitted for nomination

Optional Submission Documents

  • Links to descriptions of previous programs MAY be submitted to show evolution of the program/conference if it has gone through major development over time (maximum of two years). Please include a brief description of those changes.

Award Value


View Successful Recipients →

CPD Awards & Fellowships

Awards Deadline

Deadline for nominations for the previous academic year is November 30 (If November 30 falls on a weekend the deadline will be the following working day).


Vashty Hawkins
(416) 946-7903